Welcome to Fairlight Shorts – the home of seriously good storytelling. All of the Short Stories on our website have been hand-picked for their originality, contemporary themes and superb writing. We aim to post a new story each week, so do subscribe to our newsletter or join us on twitter if you would like to be kept up to date.

All Authors

  • Emma Timpany

    Emma Timpany is the author of Fairlight Books’ novella Travelling in the Dark.  Emma was born in Dunedin, New Zealand but moved to the UK in the 1990s, after receiving a BA degree in Anthropology from the University of Otago. Emma has already published two short story collections – Over the Dam (Red Squirrel Press 2015) and The Lost of Syros (Cultured Llama Press 2015). She has also co-edited a short story collection Cornish Short Stories: A Collection of Read more [...]

  • Fiona Vigo Marshall

    Fiona Vigo Marshall is the author of the forthcoming novel Find Me Falling, published by Fairlight Books on 7 March 2019. After graduating from Somerville College, Oxford, Fiona started her career at a local newspaper. She then continued pursuing journalism in Mexico, working for the daily English language newspaper for Mexico City, The News, part of the Novedades group of Spanish language newspapers, covering news and features. On her return to London, Fiona worked as a publisher and Read more [...]

  • Frank E Lee

    Frank E Lee started writing when he was given a pen and notebook for Christmas. Over many years he has written short stories, plays and non-fiction, but has always struggled to be published – so he takes consolation in saying that he writes for himself.   Q: Do you have a lucky writing talisman? If so, what is it? A: A pen in the shape of a feather.   Q: If you could travel in Read more [...]

  • Gordon Gibson

    Gordon Gibson lives in Troon, on the south-west coast of Scotland. He started working in steelworks in Motherwell, and later trained as a primary school teacher. This led on to a twenty-year-long career as a lecturer in higher education. In 2010, Gordon started writing full-time. Since then his prose and poetry has appeared in a number of print and online publications.   Q: If you could travel in the past, which one of the great writers Read more [...]

  • Greg Forrester

    Greg Forrester was born and raised in County Durham, and currently lives in the North East. After initially wanting to be a teacher, Greg changed his mind and decided to study Creative Writing, at both the University of Sunderland (undergraduate) and Newcastle University (postgraduate). Greg started writing in secondary school, producing four chapters of a clear Lord of the Rings rip-off, that, ‘thankfully’, no longer exists. Since then, his writing has been greatly influenced by Read more [...]

  • Helen Stancey

    Helen Stancey was born and brought up in Yorkshire. After attending University College London with a degree in English, she decided to remain in the capital, where she is still currently living.  She was briefly involved in the fringe theatre, before qualifying in psychology and teaching in various colleges. Helen Stancey is married with three children. During the earlier years of her writing career she produced mostly poetry as well as some short dramatic pieces Read more [...]

  • Helena Hinn

    Helena Hinn lives in Newcastle on Tyne, writes and attends literature and film courses, and reads. She works part time as an assistant manager for a charity shop. Helena began writing in 1984. She writes poetry and short fiction. She has been published in Virago, Women’s Press, Faber & Faber and OUP anthologies.   Q: If you could travel in the past, which one of the great writers would you like to meet and why? Read more [...]

  • Henry Hudson

    Henry Hudson was born in Dublin in 1953. He worked in the power industry for thirty years before attending Trinity College Dublin as a mature student where he took a BA in Drama Studies and English. He recently retired for the Canadian Embassy in Dublin where he served eleven years as Property and Services Manager. Henry Hudson is a former winner of the RTE PJ O’Connor Radio Drama Award, The Heinrich Boll Award for Literature, Read more [...]